AES Technical Committee

Sound for Digital Cinema and Television

Chair:    Brian McCarty    (Send Email)
Chair:    Julius Newell    (Send Email)
Forum:    Committee Discussion Forum


The complete 137th Convention schedule is posted at

There are also apps available for iOS and (cough) Android.

Our TC meeting is scheduled for Saturday, October 11, at 9AM. TC meetings are open to all, members or non-members. We value your opinions and invite anyone interested in our issues to attend.

Stay tuned!

Areas of Concentration

This committee is associated with the following sessions at AES Los Angeles 2014:
Cinema Loudness Subcommittee Test Results and Proposed Solutions
Music Production for Film—A Master Class
Psychoacoustics for Sound Designers
Cinema Standards Review and the Road to Implementing Changes (A Joint Presentation with the SMPTE)
Immersive Sound and One-Master Mixing
World-Class Cinema Sound Mixers Discuss Their Craft
Superstars of Production Sound Recording
Recording Production Sound—A Master Class

A draft Recommended Practice will be available for discussion at the TC meeting in Los Angeles.

Current Areas Of Work

Standards work to produce a modern, workable, and accurate procedure to test and calibrate a sound system is underway as SC-04-08.

The SMPTE has finished their long-awaited B-Chain Study Group report that documents the current performance of both theatres and dubbing rooms in Los Angeles. This will be an additional reference to the poor situation we find ourselves as documented in the IOA presentation by Philip Newell, et. al. (Available in our document library)

Meeting Report:

These documents do not necessarily express the official position of the AES on the issues discussed at these meetings, and only represent the views of committee members participating in the discussion. Any unauthorized use of these publications is prohibited. Authorization must be obtained from the Executive Director of the AES: Email, Tel: +1 212 661 8528, Address: 60 East 42nd Street, Room 2520, New York, New York 10165-2520, USA.

2013-7-11     Loudness Metering
Description: Engineering Brief presented at Rome 134 by Alessandro Travaglini

Technical Report:

2013-7-11     HELM: High Efficiency Loudness Model for Broadcast Content
Description: Paper from Budapest 132 on HELM: High Efficiency Loudness Model for Broadcast Content, submitted by Alessandro Travaglini, et. al.

2013-7-11     Defining the Listening Comfort Zone in Broadcasting through the analysis of the Maximum Loudness Levels
Description: Paper presented at Budapest 132 by Alessandro Travaglini, et. al. on loudness broadcast issues

2012-4-27     Cinema & Home Theater Audio Compatibility
Description: "Implications of Standards Changes in Cinema Sound on DVD and Home Theater" Wilfried Van Baelen

2012-4-21     A New Draught Proposal for the Calibration of Sound in Cinema Rooms
Description: A New Draft Proposal for the Calibration of Sound in Cinema Rooms from Philip Newell

2012-4-15     Is the X Curve Damaging Our Enjoyment of Cinema?
Description: A technical examination of the theory behind the X-curve. Paper originally given to SMPTE 2011 Sydney Conference by Glenn Leembruggen

2012-4-11     Dr. Toole Presentation on Cinema Audio
Description: A PowerPoint presentation prepared by Dr. Floyd Toole concerning issues of audio reproduction and the current standards

2012-4-11     Newell et. al. Cinema Standardization V.2
Description: Reference documents from Philip Newell et. al. on Cinema Standardization


2014-7-10     Nordtest Room Calibration Method
Description: This documents the Nordtest method of in-situ measurements of permanently installed public address systems, submitted to SC-04-08 by Mr. Brixen. This document was suggested by chair Ben Kok as a good starting point for comment and revision as the Standards group works towards a cinema sound calibration Standard.

2013-10-11     TC-SDCTV 135 Agenda (v2.0)
Description: Second draft version of TC Agenda for New York 135th Convention

2013-9-10     AES 135 TC AGENDA (V1.0)
Description: Agenda for TC meeting in New York

2013-7-11     High Efficiency Loudness Model
Description: Powerpoint from Alessandro Travaglini, et. al. for reference in Cinema Loudness Group

2013-4-22     ROME TC MEETING AGENDA - v4
Description: One additional discussion item added under "Immersive Audio"

2013-4-20     ROME AGENDA - TC-SDCTV v3
Description: Updated version 3 of agenda for TC meeting in Rome, Italy

2013-4-17     ROME AGENDA - TC-SDCTV
Description: Draft agenda for our TC meeting in Rome, Italy during the 134th Convention.

2012-10-13     SFO TC SDCTV MEETING AGENDA v2.0
Description: Revised meeting agenda for TC meeting at San Francisco convention. Meeting time scheduled for Sunday, Oct 28, at 9AM.

2012-10-1     TC SDCTV Meeting Agenda (v1.0)
Description: Proposed agenda for the TC Sound for Digital Cinema and Television. Note a discussion on room measurement techniques and sound system performance may be proposed to become standards work

2012-4-11     Budapest April 28 Agenda
Description: Agenda for Budapest TC Meeting of this Group

Committee Members

 Floyd Toole  Francis Rumsey  Kurt M. Graffy 
 Neil A. Shaw  Peter Mapp  Robert Ellis-Geiger 
 Garry Margolis  Kevin Gross  Steve Martz 
 Jeff Levison  Andreas Floros  Bernardus Kok 
 Vene Garcia  Phil Manchester  Linda Gedemer 
 Brian McCarty  Glenn A. Leembruggen  David Murphy 
 Julius Newell  Philip Newell  Dmitri Chernov 
 Ron Lagerlof  Alessandro Travaglini  Sean Richardson 
 Paul Keller  Larry Elliott  Brian Claypool 
 Steve Shurtz  Mark Genfan  Steve Haas 
 Jennifer Rarick  Curt Hoyt  Wilfried Van Baelen 
 John Burnett  Rod Elliott  Carlos Ronconi 
 Kent Siew  Miles Rogers  Chuck Mulhearn 
 Peter Soper  Darren Ma  David Revel 
 Shusen WANG  M.K. Ramkrishnan  Gunter Oehme 
 Bob Claeys  Nicolas Hamon  Eelco Grimm 
 Florian Camerer  Bert Van Daele  Alan Haigh 
 Richard Van Everdingen  Steve Strassberg  Robert Lee 
 Kazuho Ono  Bruce Black  Mark Mayfield 
 Fei Yu  Roger Dressler  Paul Tapper 
 Dr. Gerhard Bauer 

To request membership in this Technical Committee please email the Chair by using the link above.

Facebook   Twitter   LinkedIn   Google+   YouTube   RSS News Feeds  
AES - Audio Engineering Society