AES Technical Committee

Audio for Cinema

Chair:    Julian Pinn      Send Email
Chair:    Julius Newell      Send Email
Vice Chair:    Mel Lambert      Send Email
Forum:    Committee Discussion Forum


Plans for our participation in upcoming AES Convention are underway, to ensure a productive and compelling event.

Areas of Concentration

While planning for the Convention Technical Program is progressing on a normal schedule, registration has not yet been opened. Because safety is the highest priority, the Society suggests we refrain at this time from finalizing travel arrangements.

Following the success of the recent AES Virtual Online Conventions, our Fall Convention Technical Program will be available worldwide in an on-line streaming format.

Call for Contributions also has been updated.

Full details at

Current Areas Of Work

Standards work to produce a modern, workable, and accurate procedure to test and calibrate a sound system is underway as SC-04-08.

Cinema Loudness: a study group, led by Eelco Grimm, is working on a report dealing with aspects of this issue.

Subbass Loudness/Measurement: We are continuing to have discussions on this issue, raised at the 57th Conference in Hollywood and discussed in New York.

Meeting Report:

These documents do not necessarily express the official position of the AES on the issues discussed at these meetings, and only represent the views of committee members participating in the discussion. Any unauthorized use of these publications is prohibited. Authorization must be obtained from the Executive Director of the AES: Email, Tel: +1 212 661 8528, Address: 551 Fifth Ave., Suite 1225, New York, New York 10176, USA.

2021-8-4     TC-AC Meeting Minutes 06-08-20
Description: Minutes of TC-AC Committee Meeting | July 28, 2022

2020-7-1     TC-AC Meeting Minutes 06-08-20
Description: Minutes of TC-AC Committee Meeting at 148th Convention, Vienna | June 08, 2020

2020-7-1     TC-AC Meeting Minutes 01-06-20
Description: Minutes of TC-AC Committee Meeting | January 16, 2020

2020-7-1     TC-AC Meeting Minutes 10-17-19
Description: Minutes of TC-AC Committee Meeting at 147th Convention, New York | October 17, 2019

2020-7-1     TC-AC Meeting Minutes 05-23-19
Description: Minutes of TC-AC Committee Meeting held on May 23, 2019

2020-7-1     TC-AC Meeting Minutes 03-22-19
Description: Minutes of TC-AC Committee Meeting at 146th Convention, Dublin | March 22, 2019

2017-10-18     TC-AC meeting minutes 5_July_2017
Description: TC-AC meeting 5th July2017

2017-3-22     Meeting Minutes AES 141-LA September 2016
Description: Minutes of TC-AC meeting at 141st Convention

2013-7-11     Loudness Metering
Description: Engineering Brief presented at Rome 134 by Alessandro Travaglini

Technical Report:

2013-7-11     HELM: High Efficiency Loudness Model for Broadcast Content
Description: Paper from Budapest 132 on HELM: High Efficiency Loudness Model for Broadcast Content, submitted by Alessandro Travaglini, et. al.

2013-7-11     Defining the Listening Comfort Zone in Broadcasting through the analysis of the Maximum Loudness Levels
Description: Paper presented at Budapest 132 by Alessandro Travaglini, et. al. on loudness broadcast issues

2012-4-27     Cinema & Home Theater Audio Compatibility
Description: "Implications of Standards Changes in Cinema Sound on DVD and Home Theater" Wilfried Van Baelen

2012-4-21     A New Draught Proposal for the Calibration of Sound in Cinema Rooms
Description: A New Draft Proposal for the Calibration of Sound in Cinema Rooms from Philip Newell

2012-4-15     Is the X Curve Damaging Our Enjoyment of Cinema?
Description: A technical examination of the theory behind the X-curve. Paper originally given to SMPTE 2011 Sydney Conference by Glenn Leembruggen

2012-4-11     Dr. Toole Presentation on Cinema Audio
Description: A PowerPoint presentation prepared by Dr. Floyd Toole concerning issues of audio reproduction and the current standards

2012-4-11     Newell et. al. Cinema Standardization V.2
Description: Reference documents from Philip Newell et. al. on Cinema Standardization


2020-7-1     Request For Proposal
Description: TC-AC Cinema Loudness – Control and Conformance Request For Proposal | September 2019

2020-7-1     TC-AC Mission Statement
Description: Overview of functions to be undertaken by the Audio for Cinema Committee

2015-4-21     TC SDCTV Agenda Warsaw
Description: Agenda for TC Meeting in Warsaw, Poland

2015-4-21     138th/TC-SDCTV Agenda
Description: Agenda for the SDCTV Committee meeting at the 138th Convention

2014-7-10     Nordtest Room Calibration Method
Description: This documents the Nordtest method of in-situ measurements of permanently installed public address systems, submitted to SC-04-08 by Mr. Brixen. This document was suggested by chair Ben Kok as a good starting point for comment and revision as the Standards group works towards a cinema sound calibration Standard.

2013-10-11     TC-SDCTV 135 Agenda (v2.0)
Description: Second draft version of TC Agenda for New York 135th Convention

2013-9-10     AES 135 TC AGENDA (V1.0)
Description: Agenda for TC meeting in New York

2013-7-11     High Efficiency Loudness Model
Description: Powerpoint from Alessandro Travaglini, et. al. for reference in Cinema Loudness Group

2013-4-22     ROME TC MEETING AGENDA - v4
Description: One additional discussion item added under "Immersive Audio"

2013-4-20     ROME AGENDA - TC-SDCTV v3
Description: Updated version 3 of agenda for TC meeting in Rome, Italy

2013-4-17     ROME AGENDA - TC-SDCTV
Description: Draft agenda for our TC meeting in Rome, Italy during the 134th Convention.

2012-10-13     SFO TC SDCTV MEETING AGENDA v2.0
Description: Revised meeting agenda for TC meeting at San Francisco convention. Meeting time scheduled for Sunday, Oct 28, at 9AM.

2012-10-1     TC SDCTV Meeting Agenda (v1.0)
Description: Proposed agenda for the TC Sound for Digital Cinema and Television. Note a discussion on room measurement techniques and sound system performance may be proposed to become standards work

2012-4-11     Budapest April 28 Agenda
Description: Agenda for Budapest TC Meeting of this Group

Committee Members

 Floyd Toole  Kurt M. Graffy  Neil A. Shaw 
 Peter Mapp  Robert Ellis-Geiger  Robert Schulein 
 Garry Margolis  Glenn A. Leembruggen  David Weinberg 
 David Murphy  Kevin Gross  Scott Norcross 
 Andreas Floros  Esben Skovenborg  Nuno Fonseca 
 Charles van Winkle  Jeff Levison  Vene Garcia 
 Steve Martz  Phil Manchester  Linda Gedemer 
 Paul Keller  Carlos Ronconi  Curt Hoyt 
 Philip Newell  Gunter Oehme  David Revel 
 Brian Vessa  Alessandro Travaglini  Kent Siew 
 Sean Richardson  Wilfried Van Baelen  Shusen WANG 
 Miles Rogers  Mark Genfan  Julius Newell 
 Ron Lagerlof  Jennifer Rarick  Dmitri Chernov 
 M.K. Ramkrishnan  Peter Soper  Darren Ma 
 Rod Elliott  Bob Claeys  Chuck Mulhearn 
 John Burnett  Nicolas Hamon  Steve Haas 
 Brian Claypool  Ioan Allen  Lon Neumann 
 Michael Karagosian  Douglas Greenfield  John Murray 
 Mel Lambert  Robert Lee  Eelco Grimm 
 Bruce Black  Charles Robinson  Julian Pinn 
 Alan Haigh  Florian Camerer  Phillip Williams 
 Kazuho Ono  Sunil G. Bharitkar  Andrew Poulain 
 Richard Van Everdingen  Bert Van Daele  Kate Tary 
 Tamas Szekely  Roger Dressler  Steve Strassberg 
 Dr. Gerhard Bauer  Fei Yu  Mark Mayfield 
 Michael Kratschmer  Paul Tapper  Steven Ghouti 
 Frédéric Sauvé  Shawn Nageli  Stephanie Willis 
 Reginald Walsan  Samuel Nucach  Arjun Demeyere 

To request membership in this Technical Committee please email the Chair by using the link above.

AES - Audio Engineering Society