AES Technical Committee

Loudspeakers and Headphones

Chair:    Steve Hutt      Send Email
Vice Chair:    Juha Backman      Send Email

TC-LH - Mission:

The committee works to ensure that the AES membership has the opportunity to learn of relevant new transducer technology as it develops, with an emphasis on sound field generation from loudspeakers and headphones.

Resources & Events

The TC on Loudspeakers and Headphones helps to maintain a Topic Website on Loudspeakers and Headphones.

Areas of Concentration

  • Transducer Design
  • Electronic Processing Techniques
  • Distortion Analysis
  • Measurement Techniques
  • Specifications
  • Digital speakers

Current Areas Of Work

  • standards,
  • workshops,

Recent/Planned Activities

AES 150th 25-28/May/2021 AES Spring Show 2021

International Convention Streamcast in Central European Time

More Info:

TC-LH Meeting Schedule (150th Spring Show TC-LH meeting tentatively week of 31/May/21)

Chair: Steve Hutt

Vice-Chair: Juha Backman

Preliminary Agenda:

Mission Statement.


Trends: - Comments welcome:


Discussion of pertinent standards.

New Topics:

Attendees are encouraged to raise new topics for discussion.

Meeting Report:

These documents do not necessarily express the official position of the AES on the issues discussed at these meetings, and only represent the views of committee members participating in the discussion. Any unauthorized use of these publications is prohibited. Authorization must be obtained from the Executive Director of the AES: Email, Tel: +1 212 661 8528, Address: 551 Fifth Ave., Suite 1225, New York, New York 10176, USA.

2021-6-3     TC-LH 150th Meeting Report
Description: TC Loudspeakers & Headphones Meeting notes from the 150th, Online, (Amsterdam), June 2021

2020-11-5     TC-LH 149th Meeting Report
Description: TC Loudspeakers & Headphones Meeting notes from the 149th, Online, (New York), October 2020

2020-7-2     TC-LH 148th Meeting Report
Description: TC-LH Meeting Report, 148th Vienna - On Line

2020-6-11     TC-LH 147th Meeting Report
Description: TC Loudspeakers & Headphones Meeting Report from the 147th New York

2020-6-11     TC-LH 146th Meeting Report
Description: TC Loudspeakers & Headphones Meeting notes from the 146th Dublin

2018-11-6     TC-LH 144th Meeting Report
Description: TC-LH Meeting Report, 144th Milan

2018-11-5     TC-LH 145th Meeting Notes
Description: TC-LH Meeting Report, 145th New York

2017-10-24     TCLH_AES143_MeetingReport
Description: TC Loudspeakers & Headphones meeting report from 143rd convention, New York.

2017-6-9     TCLH_AES142_MeetingReport
Description: TCLH Meeting Report, 142nd Berlin

2016-10-31     TCLH 141 Meeting Report
Description: Meeting notes for TCLH 141st 30/Sep/16 Los Angeles

2016-9-12     TC-LH 140th Meeting Notes.
Description: Meeting notes from the TCLH meeting 5/June16 - Paris

2015-11-2     AES 139th TCLH Meeting Notes
Description: TC Loudspeakers & Headphones Meeting notes from the 139th, New York, 31 October 2015.

2015-6-10     TC-LH 138th Meeting Report
Description: TC Loudspeakers & Headphones Meeting notes from the 138th, Warsaw, May 2015

2013-5-7     AES 133 TCLH San Francisco minutes
Description: Meeting minutes from the Technical Committee meeting on Loudspeakers and Headphones, Held in San Francisco on October 28, 2012.


2013-5-13     AES Tutorial Diagnostics on irregular loudspeaker defects
Description: AES Tutorial Diagnostics on irregular loudspeaker defects, WOLFGANG KLIPPEL, Rome 2013

Committee Members

 Angelo Farina  Bob Zurek  David Dage 
 Don Keele  Doug Button  Earl Geddes 
 Giles Davis  Jason Linse  Jim Stratman 
 John Busenitz  Richard Small  Ronald Ajemian 
 Marshall Buck  Stanley Lipshitz  Peter Mapp 
 John Vanderkooy  Mark Ziemba  Sean Olive 
 Juha Backman  Steve Hutt  Scott Orth 
 Simone Koo  Wolfgang Klippel  Ryan Mihelich 
 Michael Howes  Timo Esser  Robert Franks 
 Richard S Stroud  Kenneth Deetz  Alan Trevena 
 J M Woodgate  Laurie Fincham  Philippe Herzog 
 Christopher Struck  Hans van Maanen  Erling Sandermann Olsen 
 David Carlstrom  Mark Dodd  Thomas Gmeiner 
 Todd Welti  Peter Brown  David Prince 
 Paul Barton  Alex Voishvillo  Ronald Sauro 
 Aldoshima Irino  Neil Harris  Charles Hughes II 
 Stephen Thompson  Richard Little  Roberto Magalotti 
 Geoff Hill  Brian Sterling  Tim Mellow 
 Rachel Cruz  Roger Schwenke  Juergen Peissig 
 Mattia Cobianchi  Michael Turner  Paul Apollonio 
 Karl Kerstein  Michael Santucci  Pat Dennis 
 Jesse Lippert  Stefan Irrgang  Francesco Tordini 
 Sean O'Brien  Edgar Kirk  Brian Fligor 
 Gottfried Schmid  John Dawson  Thomas Maguire 
 Arndt Klingelnberg  Alan Phillips  Robert Baum 
 M. Andrew Lewis  David Murphy  Paul Peace 
 Steve Temme  Peter John Chapman  Oleg Bogdanov 
 Igor Levitsky  Per Sjosten  Tim Gladwyn 
 Richard Pyatt  Patrick Flanagan  Patrick James Hegarty 
 CheahHeng Tan  Marcin Kalinowski  Pietro Massini 
 Alexander Lindau, Dr.  Jack Oclee-Brown  Michael Hedges 
 Gabe Slotnick  Hessam Alavi  Colin Bigland 
 Renato Yamane  Cedrik Bacon  Tommaso Nizzoli 
 Murilo Alvares  Balazs Kakonyi  Tacksung Choi 
 Rich Sulin  Guenther Weber  Kommer Kleijn 
 Omid Khonsaripour  Thilo Stompler  Lakshmikanth Tipparaju 
 Francesco Baccelli  Viktor Dobos  Christian Lopez 
 Stefan Dorr  Matteo Nucci  Manuel Perucci 
 Mikus Salgravis  Greg White  Christopher Wells 
 Matthew Robinson  Dohyeon Son 

To request membership in this Technical Committee please email the Chair by using the link above.

AES - Audio Engineering Society