AES Technical Committee

Human Factors in Audio Systems

Chair:    Michael Hlatky    (Send Email)
Vice Chair:    William L Martens    (Send Email)

The Committee’s goal is to provide our industry with a forum to identify problems and offer audio solutions for human-machine interface design, and to address human factors issues in audio devices. This includes expanding the creation, usability, ergonomics, perception and safety of audio and its technology. We believe the methods for building interfaces and providing auditory feedback must be formulated to enhance the user’s experience while interacting with audio based systems.

Areas of Concentration

  1. Identify ways to optimize Human/Machine interaction in the design of audio systems and environments.
  2. Organize tutorials and workshops for system designers and users.

Various Links

Some examples of bad ergonomics can be found here: and here:

Upcoming conferences within the Human Factors field

  • European Conference on Cognitive Ergonomics, September 2008:
  • World Congress on Ergonomics, August 2009:

Meeting Report:

These documents do not necessarily express the official position of the AES on the issues discussed at these meetings, and only represent the views of committee members participating in the discussion. Any unauthorized use of these publications is prohibited. Authorization must be obtained from the Executive Director of the AES: Email, Tel: +1 212 661 8528, Address: 551 Fifth Ave., Suite 1225, New York, New York 10176, USA.

2011-11-8     Minutes from the October 2011 Meeting
Description: Meeting Minutes

2010-11-6     Minutes from the November 2010 meeting
Description: TC-HFAS meeting in San Francisco, 05 November 2010

2010-10-11     Minutes from the May 2010 meeting
Description: TC-HFAS meeting in London, May 2010

2009-6-12     Minutes from the May 2009 meeting.
Description: TC-HFAS meeting in Munich, 08 May 2009

2008-10-28     Minutes from the October 2008 meeting
Description: Meeting in San Francisco, Oct. 4th, 2008.

2008-6-6     Minutes from the May 2008 meeting
Description: TC-HFAS meeting in Amsterdam, 17 May, 3:00-4:00 pm.

2008-5-15     Minutes from formative meeting for TC-HFA
Description: TC-HFA (Human Factors in Audio) Formative Meeting Thursday, October 28, 2004, 4:00pm-6:00pm


2009-6-12     Proposal for Workshop at the 127th Convention
Description: As discussed on the May 2009 TC-HFAS meeting.

2008-6-6     Proposal for Workshop at the 125th Convention
Description: As discussed on the May 2008 TC-HFAS meeting.

2008-5-15     Proposal for session at the 120th Convention
Description: A preliminary paper session proposal. Author: Densil Cabrera. Original date: 2005-10-04.

2008-5-15     Discussion on mission statement
Description: Comments by Durand Begault. Original date 2005-02-25.

2008-5-15     Chairman's comment to report of the 1st meeting
Description: Follow-up by chairman Tom Schlum on the report of the formative meeting of TC-HFAS. Original date: 2005-01-27.

Committee Members

 Durand Begault  Elizabeth Cohen  Jeremy Cooperstock 
 Kimio Hamasaki  Soren H. Nielsen  Soren Bech 
 Tom Schlum  Wieslaw Woszczyk  Kenneth Deetz 
 Russell Mason  Scott Burgess  William L Martens 
 Kim Rishoej  Peter Swarte  James J McTigue 
 Jonathan Laney  Florian Konig  Rene Quesnel 
 Heather Ellsworth  Paul Chavez  Angela Jones 
 Jonas Braasch  Ben Leslie  Brian Karr 
 Densil Cabrera  Andrea Polli  Aaron Day 
 Dr. D B Karron  Atushi Marui  Aleksander Valjamae 
 Jean-Dominique Polack  Carryl L. Baldwin  Ellen Haas 
 Joern Loviscach  Seibert Murphy  Alex Bullitt 
 Griff Ocker  Michael Hlatky  Sebastian Heise 
 Dylan-Thomas Vance  David Weinberg  Daniel Gomez 

To request membership in this Technical Committee please email the Chair by using the link above.

Facebook   Twitter   LinkedIn   Google+   YouTube   RSS News Feeds  
AES - Audio Engineering Society