AES News

Oral History Project Expanded

Among the innovators featured in the new set of twenty DVDs are:

Bruce Martin: (1944-2004) Founder, Martin Audio, one of the industry’s largest dealerships in the  1970s-‘80s; an innovative console designer, and inventor of the Martin Vari-Speed, used by many studios to alter tape machine speed.

Bill Hanley: The "father of festival sound,” best known for designing, building, installing, and operating a a custom sound system for the historic 1969 Woodstock Music and Arts Fair. Mr. Hanley is a storied FOH mixer and a co-founder the Fillmore East.

Ed Greene: Chief engineer at MGM Records in 1970s; world-renowned engineer; mixer for Grammy and Academy Awards and the Salt Lake City Winter Olympics broadcasts; recipient of nineteen Primetime Emmy Awards and inducted into the Technical Excellence in Creativity Hall of Fame in 2007.

Neil Muncy: Founded SSI, Inc. in 1966 where he pioneered the use of op amp technology in multi-channel consoles and high speed tape duplicating systems. Mr. Muncy is the author of the "The Pin-1 Problem," the best-selling publication in AES history.

David Hewitt: A pre-eminent remote recording engineer for almost 40 years (Neil Young, Yes, ELP), Hewitt has received multiple TEC, Grammy, Emmy and Cinema Audio awards as a live recording and broadcast engineer, and film sound mixer. Founder of Remote Recording Services, he created an innovative and hugely successful mobile recording studio. Mr. Hewitt was inducted into the TEC Hall of Fame in 2006.

Dr. Floyd E. Toole: Recipient of the 2008 CEDIA Lifetime Achievement Award, Dr. Toole is a 40-year pioneer in the acoustics field, widely known for his research on small room acoustics, relating measurements to a listener's perceptions. A contributor to many audio publications, he continues his groundbreaking work today as VP of Acoustical Engineering at Harmon International Industries, Inc.

Dr. Marina Bosi: A past president of the AES, Dr. Bosi is Consulting Professor in the Music and Electrical Engineering Departments at Stanford University, and a founding member and director of the Digital Media Project. An accomplished author, she holds several patents and received the AES Fellowship Award for her work on audio standards development.

The other industry leaders featured in the 2nd DVD series are: Frank Abbey, James E. Webb, Ioan Allen, Manfred Schroeder, Hamilton Brosious, David Blackmer, Kunimaro Tanaka, D.B. Keele Jr, John Meyer, Gualtiero Berlinghini, Jerry B. Minter, Dan Dugan and Walter Selsted.

View All Interviews

Posted: Wednesday, July 1, 2009

RSS News Feed

« New AES Website Is Live | Main | AES Publishes Monograph on Wave Field… »

AES - Audio Engineering Society