SC-02-01 meeting, Online, 2022-10

Report of the meeting of the SC-02-01 Working Group on Digital audio measurement techniques, held online, 2022-10-13.

The meeting was convened by chair Jayant Datta.

The report of the previous meeting, held online 2022-05-06, was approved as written.

The agenda was approved as written.

In attendence were Jayant Datta, Richard Cabot, Paul Treleaven, John Grant, Ian Dennis, Louis Fielder, Julian Pinn, Chris Lacinak, Hatano Wataru, Tomlinson Holman, Bruce Olson

Projects assigned to this group but not mentioned here had no action requested or required - see for details.

Open Projects:

AES-X217 Audio ADC test method and performance specification for archiving and preservation applications
Status: Task group (Chris Lacinak, Ian Dennis, Rebecca Chandler, Richard Cabot, and Jayant Datta) completed the first draft of the information document. Ian Dennis and Jayant Datta attended the SC-03-06 [Working Group on Digital Library and Archive Systems] meeting and requested them to review the draft version [x217-ptd-2022-05-27.docx] and provide feedback to this Working Group.

AES17-R Review of AES17-2020: AES standard method for digital audio equipment - Measurement of digital audio equipment
Status: Soliciting changes -- chair looking for volunteers to form a task group to join Brian Vessa, Ian D, John La Grou, Julian Pinn, Richard Cabot, and Jayant Datta in updating the document. Louis Fielder and Tom Holman may consider joining. Chair will seek additional volunteers from the Working Group.


Richard Cabot to get 2095-1 from SMPTE (re: pink noise definition).

New projects

No new projects proposed.

New business

No new business proposed

The next meeting will be held online in May 2023, scheduled in conjunction with the AES 154th Convention.

AES - Audio Engineering Society