144th AES CONVENTION Presenters: D. B. (Don) Keele, Jr.

AES Milan 2018 Presenter or Author

D. B. (Don) Keele, Jr.

D. B. (Don) Keele, Jr.

Primary Affiliation: DBK Associates and Labs - Bloomington, IN, USA

Don Keele has worked for a number of companies in the area of loudspeaker R&D and measurement technology including Electro-Voice, Klipsch, JBL, Crown, and Harman International. He holds eight patents with topics including "constant-directivity" loudspeaker horns, loudspeaker arrays, and signal processing. He is a life fellow of AES.

For ten years, he wrote for Audio Magazine as a Senior Editor performing loudspeaker reviews. More recently, he worked for Harman/Becker Automotive Systems in the advanced technology development group and was a member of the Harman corporate acoustics engineering group working under Floyd Toole. Currently he heads his own consulting company DBK Associates and Labs. His passion for the last 17 years has been to promote the use of CBT (Constant Beamwidth Transducer) loudspeaker technology in the loudspeaker industry. He has written or coauthored 17 AES papers on this topic.

Mr. Keele holds two BS degrees in EE and Physics from California State Polytechnic University and an MSEE degree from Brigham Young University where he minored in acoustics. He has presented and published over 56 technical papers on loudspeaker design and measurement methods and other related topics, among them the paper for which he won the 1975 AES Publication Award, "Low-Frequency Loudspeaker Assessment by Nearfield Sound-Pressure Measurement".

He is a frequent speaker at AES section meetings and workshops, has chaired several AES technical paper sessions. Mr. Keele is a past member of the AES Board of Governors and the AES review board, and is past Vice President, AES Central Region USA/Canada. Mr. Keele received the TEF Richard C. Heyser Award in 2001. In 2002, he received a Scientific and Engineering Academy Award from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for work he did on cinema constant-directivity loudspeakers. In 2011 he received the ALMA Beryllium Driver Award for Lifetime Achievement.

More recently in 2016 he was presented with the AES Gold Medal Award for outstanding and significant research, design and product development, over a period of more than 45 years, of loudspeakers and loudspeaker systems providing broadband constant-coverage performance.

More Info: http://www.dbkeele.com/

Session List

May 25: EB03: Signal Processing/Audio Effects & Instrumentation/Measurements/Forensics
Proposed AES Test Standard for Specifying Continuous and Short-Term Maximum Power and SPL for Electronic and Electro-Acoustic Systems: Part 1 (Author)

Return to Full List of Presenters and Authors