AES Conventions and Conferences

   Return to 121st
   Housing Information
   Technical Program
   Detailed Calendar
   4 Day Planner
   Paper Sessions
   Broadcast Events
   Special Events
   Master Classes
   Live Sound Seminars
   Technical Tours
   Student / Career
   Heyser Lecture
   Tech Comm Mtgs
   Standards Mtgs
   Exhibitor Seminars
   Training Sessions
   Press Information
   Exhibitor Info
   Author Information
   SFO Exhibition


Convention Committee


3 Day Technology Expo Introduced

Planning for the 121st Audio Engineering Society Convention has begun in earnest, with the collaboration of a stellar Committee headed once again by Chair John Strawn. Scheduled for Oct. 5-8, 2006, in SF’s Moscone Convention Center. This year’s AES Convention Technical Program will maintain its traditional four-day run. However, AES executive director Roger Furness has announced a format change designed to meet the evolving needs of the pro audio community. “The Technology Exhibition is now scheduled for three days, October 6 thru 8, a change which reflects well-considered exhibitor requests,” Furness said.

Chairman John Strawn reports that the all-volunteer Committee began meeting in late 2005, to develop an exemplary program of Papers, Tutorials, Master Classes, Workshops, Exhibits, Broadcast, Educational, Historical and Special Events. “We have attracted a dedicated and eminently professional Committee,” he said. “Surpassing standards set by earlier conventions is a formidable challenge, but this extraordinary brain trust will not disappoint the thousands of international audio industry pros who look forward to this event all year long.”

AES executive director Roger Furness emphasizes that a number of seasoned committee members, have re-enlisted for the event. “We welcome new blood to the Convention Committee, but the invaluable experience and unbridled enthusiasm of our returning chairs underscores their commitment. There have never been honorary Committee members,” he adds. “Chairs sign on for labor intensive jobs which require both dedication and stamina. Their primary reward is the personal satisfaction they derive from seeing large audiences attending the conventions they help organize.”

AES 121st Committee Members are:

Convention Chair:John Strawn
Papers Co-Chairs:Rob Maher, Christopher Struck
Workshop Co-Chairs:David Harris, Bob Lee
Master Class and
Tutorials Co-Chairs:
Bob Moses, Valerie Tyler
Technical Tours Chair:Jim McTigue
Education Events Co-Chairs:Dottie Kreps, Josh Tidsbury
Historical Events Chair:Bill Wray
Facilities Chair:Bob Megantz
Live Sound Events Chair:Larry the O
Broadcast Sessions Chair:David Bialik
Special Events Chair:Veronique Larcher
Volunteers Chair:Joe Alexander
Program Coordinator:Han Tendeloo

Pictured (left-to-right) are: AES 121st Convention Committee Workshop Co-Chair, David Harris; Live Sound Events Chair, Larry the O; Convention Chair John Strawn; Volunteers Chair, Joe Alexander; Special Events Chair, Veronique Larcher; Facilities Chair, Bob Megantz; Master Class & Tutorials Co-Chair, Valerie Tyler; Technical Tours Chair Jim McTigue; Workshop Co-Chair, Bob Lee; Chris Plunkett, Director, Convention Management and Historical Events Chair, Bill Wray.  Not pictured are:  Papers Co-Chairs, Christopher Struck and Rob Maher; Education Events Co-Chairs Dottie Kreps and Josh Tidsbury; Broadcast Sessions Chair, David Bialik; Master Class & Tutorials Co-Chair, Bob Moses, and AES Executive Director/photographer, Roger Furness.


Formed in 1948 by a group of concerned audio engineers, the Audio Engineering Society counts over 12,000 members throughout the U.S., Latin America, Europe, Japan and the Far East. The AES serves as the pivotal force in the exchange and dissemination of technical information for the industry. For additional information on the AES 121st Convention please visit

121st AES CONVENTION          
CONTACT:   Howard Sherman
+1 212 777 4711
[email protected]

121st AES Convention – Moscone Center, San Francisco – October 5 – 8, 2006

Back to AES 121st Convention Back to AES Home Page

(C) 2006, Audio Engineering Society, Inc.