AES Vienna Committee

148th Convention Committee

The AES would like to thank all of the committee members that volunteer their time to put on our technical program!

Piotr Majdak

Piotr Majdak (Convention Chair)
Piotr Majdak is Deputy Director of the Acoustics Research Institute (ARI) of the Austrian Academy of Sciences (OeAW). His background is electrical and audio engineering, studied at the University of Technology and the University of Music and Performing Arts (KUG), both in Graz, Austria; with a Ph.D. in the field of “Psychoacoustics and signal processing”. With a habilitation in "Acoustics and Audio Engineering", he teaches at the KUG and the University for Applied Technical Sciences in Vienna. He is member of the Acoustical Society of America, Association for Research in Otolaryngology, the Austrian and German Acoustic Associations, and the president of the Austrian section of the Audio Engineering Society.

logo logo


Nadja Wallaszkovits(Convention Chair)


Thomas Gmeiner

Thomas Gmeiner (Facilities Chair)
Technology manager with a broad scope of experience and expertise. Today VP Program Management at USound, previously held various positions at AKG, Harman and Knowles, spanning from development engineer over VP level to managing director, from business- to technology development, covering the areas microphones, headphones, digital wireless transmission and loudspeakers in the markets professional, consumer and automotive. Lead teams spanning across the globe from China over India, Austria to the US. Holds two master degrees, one in electrical engineering and one in acoustics.



Michael Mihocic

Michael Mihocic (Facilities Co-Chair)
Michael Mihocic is a member of the group "Psychoacoustics and Experimental Audiology" at the Acoustics Research Institute (Vienna), of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. He develops software, and performs psychoacoustical experiments and acoustical measurements. Michael Mihocic is maintaining the technical field of the Lab Facilities at the Acoustics Research Institute. He is also part of the audio measurement team (room acoustics; car and train noise measurements). His background is in electrical engineering with focus on audio-and-video engineering and computer-and-system engineering. Since 2016 Michael Mihocic is member of the board of the Audio Engineering Society Austria.

logo logo


Thomas Sporer

Thomas Sporer (Papers Chair)
Thomas Sporer is Deputy Director of Fraunhofer IDMT and Professor at the University of Arts in Berlin. He has a background in computer science (Master) and in electrical engineering (PhD) from university of Erlangen-Nuremberg. His fields of interest include audio coding, psychoacoustics, subjective and objective quality assessment, spatial audio, immersive environments and acoustics. He is Co-Chair of the convention policy committee and of the TC on perception and subjective evaluation of audio systems.


Areti Andreopoulou

Areti Andreopoulou (Papers Chair)
Areti Andreopoulou is an Assistant Professor in Music Technology at the Department of Music Studies of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (UoA), Greece. She has a background in musicology from UoA and Master's and PhD degrees in Music Technology from New York University. Her fields of interest include spatial audio, immersive environments, auditory displays, and acoustics.


Matthias Frank

Matthias Frank (Workshops & Tutorials Chair)

logo logo


Ana Monte

Ana Monte (Workshops & Tutorials Chair)
Ana Monte is executive director and co-founder of DELTA Soundworks, an audio production company with focus on immersive audio formats. She holds a B.A from California State University - Chico where she studied “Music Industry and Technology” with a focus on “Recording Arts” and an M.A. from the Film Academy Baden-Württemberg, where she studied “Film sound and Sound design”. For her work as sound designer, Ana has received diverse sound awards including “Best Sound Design in a Drama series” at the LA Webfest 2015 and a “Best Sound” nomination from the LA Film Review.

logo logo


Michael Iber

Michael Iber (Technical Tours Chair)
Michael Iber studied piano at the Royal Academy of Music in London and initially pursued a classical concert career. Since the end of the 1990s, he has been developing projects at the intersection of music, sound and media art, as well as in the field of music informatics. Since 2014 Iber has been responsible for the master class audio design at the Department of Media Technology at St. Pölten University of Applied Sciences. Besides project management of contract research projects for museum installations and music education, his main research interest lies in the design of acoustic information and data sonification, especially in the fields of health care and manufacturing. In addition to his teaching and research activities, Iber works as an author, director, sound designer and producer of radio features and radio plays.



Andreas Büchele

Andreas Büchele (Technical Tours Chair)
Andreas Buechele is Professor in Audio Technology and Sounddesign at the Department of Media and Digital Technologies of the University of Applied Science St.Pölten / Austria. Formerly, he was the Chief Sound engineer of the Burgtheatre Vienna and has extensive experience with live sound engineering and event-sounddesign.



Katharina Pollack

Katharina Pollack (Student Volunteers Coordinator)
Katharina Pollack is currently finishing her masters degree in electrical engineering audio engineering in Graz. Her focus lies on signal processing and education. She has been active in the AES community for years and brings experience from organising other conferences and events.



Magdalena Piotrowska

Magdalena Piotrowska (Education Chair)
Magdalena Piotrowska is a mastering engineer and educator based in Poland. She has served the AES as Governor, Education Committee Vice Chair and being involved in convention committees as Workshops&Tutorials Co-Chair and Student and Career track in Europe and US. Recently she is Education Committee. Magdalena is involved in numerous educational projects in field of sound and acoustics. Her main scientific interests are music information retrieval, psychoacoustics, signal processing and connections between science and practical application in the field of audio technology.



AES Staff

Colleen Harper

Chris Plunkett

Graham Kirk

Lori Jackson

Sue Williams

Bill McQuaide