Education & Career

Past Winners of AES Student Recording Competition at 129th AES Convention

129th AES Convention San Francisco 2010

The Student Recording Competitions attracted 66 student submissions from all over the world, competing in seven categories: Stereo Pop/Rock, Stereo World/Folk, Stereo Jazz/Blues, Stereo Classical, Surround Non-Classical, Surround Classical, and Surround Sound for Picture.

The real heroes in the competition are the judges, who volunteer significant time to the cause, offering expertise of the highest level: Jim Anderson, David Bowles, Betty Cantor-Jackson, Vince Caro, Dana Jon Chappelle, Shawn Everett, Malcolm Fife, Akira Fukada, David W Hewitt, David Miles Huber, Leslie Ann Jones, Jim Kaiser, Richard King, Lolly Lewis, Dave MacLaughlin, Glenn Lorbecki, Andres Mayo, Ronald Prent, Mark Rubel, and Alan Silverman.

The generous sponsorship of the following exhibitors enriches the experience for the students, adding a bit of hardware and software to the honor of being an AES winner: API, Cengage Learning, Focal Press, Genelec, Izotope, Massenburg Design Works/Avid, Melodyne/Music Marketing Canada, Merging Technologies, PMC Monitors, Schoeps Mikrofone GmbH, Solid State Logic, Sonivox, and Sound Toys. These sponsors are donating a valuable, high quality product to the recording competition, showing an inspiring commitment to keeping the next generation of sound recordists involved in the AES and pursuing the highest production standards. The entire SDA and every member of the Education Committee very much appreciate their support.

Kevin Harper (left), Alex Case (right)

Kevin Harper (left), Alex Case (right)

Lolly Lewis (left), David W. Hewitt (middle), David Bowles (right)

Lolly Lewis (left),  David W. Hewitt (middle), David Bowles (right)

Student winners include:

Stereo Rock/Pop
Tim Hall Middle Tennessee State University
Kyu Sik Chang Chung-Ang University
Kevin Harper Ithaca College

Stereo World/Folk
Brad Delava The New England Institute of Art
Christopher R. Conover Middle Tennessee State University
Meining Cheung Ruiz The Banff Centre

Stereo Jazz/Blues
Tim Hall Middle Tennessee State University
Gonzalo Garcia The Banff Centre
Bryan Lovett & Brett Long Hartt School of Music

Stereo Classical
Yao Lu Johns Hopkins University
Kevin Harper Ithaca College
Justin Shelton University of Texas at Arlington

Surround Classical
Scott Strathman Indiana University
Tetsuro Kanai Tokyo University of Arts
Kevin Harper Ithaca College

Surround Non-Classical
Jeremy Dudman Middle Tennessee State University
Kevin Harper Ithaca College
not awarded

Sound for Picture
Alejandro Yllarramendy Vancouver Film School
Piper Payne The Banff Centre
not awarded

AES - Audio Engineering Society