SC-04-04 meeting, Online, 2020-10

Report of the Meeting of the SC-04-04 Working Group on Microphone measurement and characterization, held online, 2020-10-09

The working group Chair position is currently empty and Vice-Chair David Josephson was unavailable so the meeting was Chaired by Richard Cabot.

The patent policy was read, the agenda and report of the previous meeting held 2020-05-27 online were approved.

In attendence were Richard Cabot, Tad Rollow, Anthony Kuzub, Matt Leatherman, David Andrews, David Prince, Hans Riekehof, Erhard Werner, Steve Thompson.

Open projects

AES42-R Review of AES42-2010: AES Standard for Acoustics - Digital interface for microphones
Anthony Kuzub noted that Jeff Berryman���s group had contributed an OCA template for AES42. He mentioned the need to expand this to cover the additional parameters unique to wireless microphones.

AES-X085 Detailed Professional Microphone Specifications
No new progress


Erhard Werner described a new IEC TC100-TA20 project ���Sound system equipment - Part 24: Headphones and earphones - active acoustic noise cancelling characteristics���.

New projects

Anthony Kuzub noted that the AES72 QTP connector standard should be adapted for multichannel microphones including being more specific about the options for a return path for phantom power.

New business:

There was considerable discussion of other potential projects for the group regarding microphones. At present the group scope is microphone measurement and characterization and these projects would fall outside that scope.

The next meeting will be scheduled in conjunction with the AES 150th Convention, to be held either face-to-face or online in May 2020.

AES - Audio Engineering Society