AES Section Meeting Reports

Indiana University - February 18, 2019

Meeting Topic:

Moderator Name:

Speaker Name:

Other business or activities at the meeting:

Meeting Location:


The Audio Engineering Society at Indiana University hosted its callout meeting for the Spring 2019 semester on February 4th, 2019. The meeting began with a presentation from Hannah Estabrook of One Pulse Entertainment, who offered an internship opportunity in live sound production. AES at IU thanks her for coming in and speaking to our members, and hopes that our members consider applying!

The meeting continued with the announcement of our Fall 2019 electees for AES board positions. They are as follows:
President - Melanie Montgomery
Vice President - Kunal Pendse
Secretary - Heoliny Jung
Treasurer - Ben Wesenberg
Outreach Director - Collin Reynolds
General Officers - Jared O'Brien, Anna Fagin
We congratulate all who were elected and are looking forward to great things in the coming semester.

After this announcement, we discussed our upcoming "Tape Day" event at Primary Sound Studios, giving more information to the interested students.

Finally, the meeting was capped off with the grand reveal of the Spring 2019 AES at IU Mix Competition. The track, "Digging", has been selected from a song recorded in the Georgina Joshi Studio during our Lewitt Microphone shootout. The contestants will mix the track on their own time and submit it to be judged anonymously by Audio Engineering and Sound Production faculty members Jamie Tagg, Michael Stucker, and Jake Belser. The second-place prize is a pair of Shure SRH 940 headphones, and the first place prize is a Peluso P414 large-diaphragm condenser microphone. Both prizes were graciously donated. AES at IU would like to sincerely thank Shure and Peluso Microphones for making this competition possible. We are so grateful for your generosity!

Written By:

More About Indiana University Section

AES - Audio Engineering Society