AES Press Release

Audio Engineering Society Announces Educational Foundation Awards for 2017

For Release: September 14, 2017

Audio Engineering Society Announces Educational Foundation Awards for 2017

The Educational Foundation of the Audio Engineering Society (AES) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 AES Educational Grants for Graduate Studies in Audio Engineering. The announcement was made by Don Puluse, President of the AES Educational Foundation (AESEF), on behalf of the foundation’s Board of Directors, with scholarship and award winners as follows: 

This year’s winner of the John Eargle Award is Mariane Generale, a Master’s student in Sound Recording from McGill University. Her BM is in Piano and Music Technology Applications. Generale’s research is on the health benefits of active music participation for the senior community. Future goals are to research virtual acoustics and sound perception. 

The Larry Estrin Scholarship is granted to David Moffat, a renewal recipient who received last year’s Harman Award. Moffat is a PhD student in Computer Science, Queen Mary University of London, and is preparing for a career in audio technology research. Moffat is a PhD student in Computer Science, Queen Mary University of London. His undergrad degree is a BS in Artificial Intelligence and Computer Science from the University of Edinburgh, and he holds an MS (with Distinction) from Queen Mary in Digital Music Processing. Larry Estrin Scholarship information available at

This year’s Harman Scholars are Michael Heilemann and Karolina Marciniuk. Heilemann is a PhD candidate at the University of Rochester in Electrical and Computing Engineering, with a BS in Physics from Canisius College. He has been an AES Convention presenter and has an interest in loudspeaker design and spatial audio. He is also recipient of the V.A. Ruszkiewicz Memorial Prize for Distinction in Physics. Marciniuk is set to earn a PhD from Gdansk U. of Technology, Audio Acoustic Laboratory. She is the author of 15 papers covering topics including psychoacoustics and sound production for video. She is AES Student Section Advisor and has organized a number of workshops. Marciniuk is also a student mentor for enhancing research and community activities. She has an MS from Gdansk. 

Andrew Doyle has been named the Tom Kite Scholar for 2017. Doyle will receive a Master’s of Engineering in Acoustics at Penn State University. His capstone paper, “Measuring and Modeling the Electrical Impedance of Moving Coil Speakers,” is a future AES paper. His undergraduate degree is from Purdue and was in Multidisciplinary Engineering with a focus in Acoustics. He had a minor in Theater Production (focus on sound), Design and Electrical Engineering. Tom Kite Scholarship information available at

Jennifer Nulsen has been announced as the Bruce Swedien Scholarship Recipient for 2017. She is working on an MM at McGill in Sound Engineering. This year Nulsen received an AES Student Recording Competition Gold Award at the AES Convention for an orchestral recording. She also attended the Banff Center. Jennifer’s undergraduate degree is in Piano Performance/Music Production from the University of Hartford. For more information, visit

The Emil Torick Scholar is Urvil Shah, who pursues a Master’s in Entertainment Technology at Carnegie Mellon University. He has a Bachelor’s in Computer Engineering from K.J. Somayia College of Engineering (Vidyavihar). Shah is an artist, composer, sound engineer, computer programmer and label owner. 

Other scholarship winners include:

Martin Disley, an MS student in Sound and Music Computing at the Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona, Spain, His Bachelor’s is in Music Technology from the University of Edinburgh. Disley’s research interest is in human computer interactions for musical application, including its potential in consumer markets. 

Phillip Tock is studying toward a Master of Music in Sound Recording from McGill University. His undergrad degree is a Bachelor of Arts in Recording Industry Studies from Butler University. Tock has a strong interest in research in 3D Sound and Audio Education.  

The AES Educational Foundation was established in 1984 to encourage talented students to enter the profession of audio engineering. Grants for graduate studies with emphasis on audio topics are awarded annually. Recipients are selected on the basis of demonstrated talent, achievements, goals and recommendations. Since its inception, the AESEF has presented awards totaling over several hundred thousand dollars. Grants have been made possible by contributions from the AES, Audio Precision, HARMAN International Industries, JBL, the estate of John K. Hilliard, the Mix Foundation for Excellence in Audio, the families of John Eargle, David Smith and Emil Torick, and the family and friends of Bruce Swedien, Don and Fran Pearson and Larry Estrin. 

The AES also receives support from other benefactors such as in-memoriam donors, and individuals and companies that support education in audio. Application forms and additional information are available from the Audio Engineering Society, 551 Fifth Ave., Suite 1225, New York, NY 10176, USA, or on its web site:

AES - Audio Engineering Society