For Release: July 21, 2010

AES 129th Convention Committee Builds Bridge To Pro Audio Future

SF-Based November 4-7 Event Looms As Blockbuster

New Dedicated Product Design Track

129th Convention Committee

129th AES Convention Committee

SAN FRANCISCO:  Pulling out all the stops, AES 129th Convention Co-Chairs Valerie Tyler and Jim McTigue and an ace team of Committee Chairs are deep in the process of developing an exemplary event.  Scheduled for November 4-7 at San Francisco’s famed Moscone Center, the 2010 Convention has been christened Your Bridge to the Future.  In addition to the popular Workshop, Broadcast, Live Sound, Master Class, Papers, Educational and Historical programs, a new dedicated track on Product Design, a series of unique Tech Tours and Special Events are being prepared to highlight this annual pro audio world gathering.

AES Executive Director Roger Furness envisions the 129th Convention as a potential watershed.  “Last year we introduced several meaningful programming shifts and additions,” he reports.  “Broadcast sessions were greatly expanded to address Media Streaming and related internet-based issues.  We also added a special Game Audio Track with ten Workshops dedicated to this vital adjunct to our continually evolving industry.  Both of these expanded programs proved highly successful. This year Convention Co-Chairs Valerie Tyler and Jim McTigue and a team of exceptional Committee members are focused on raising the quality level of all our events.”

Commenting on plans for the 129th Convention, Valerie Tyler remarked, “Last year we saw a trend toward growing attendance and enthusiasm as the economy began showing signs of resurgence. Virtually every sector of our industry has reported either stabilization or promising growth.  We look forward to a strong turnout this year, and our Committee members are developing a program that no serious industry member will want to miss.”

Jim McTigue adds, “We are extremely fortunate to have attracted an extraordinary Committee this year.  Never one to rest on his laurels, David Bialik will mark his 22nd consecutive Broadcast Chairmanship with a full program of timely events including a special section on Media Streaming; Live Sound Co-Chairs Jonathan Novick and Michael Knowles are focusing on new technology developments and developing meaningful presentations by stellar members of this vital Pro Audio sector; Historical Events Co-Chair Bill Wray is exploring a number of intriguing Bay Area options; Master Class/Tutorials Co-Chairs Conrad Cooke and Vene Garcia are in the process of selecting the most imaginative and worthwhile presentations for this perennial Convention cornerstone.” 

“Papers Co-Chairs Rob Maher and Veronique Larcher and their team are scrutinizing a record number of proposals in search of exceptional presentations,” McTigue continues. “Platinum Chair Paul Verna is developing a ‘who's who’ list of participants for his successful Producer/Engineer/Artist panels; Bob Moses will chair the first stand-alone Product Design Track; Tech Tour Co-Chairs Jessica Livingston and Jeff McKnight are scouring the SF production/post-production landscape for the most unique and worthwhile destinations; Education Events Co-Chairs Alex Case and MeiLing Loo will further expand the parameters of this vital convention component; Workshops Co-Chairs David Bowles and Mike Wells are building an authoritative and informative program; Steve Martz will Chair the expanding Game Audio Track; and Special Events Chair Chris Smith is designing a series of events that will take full advantage of San Francisco’s extraordinary resources,” McTigue adds.

AES Director of Convention Management Chris Plunkett emphasizes the importance of the Committee’s technical team members, “Facilities Chair Bob Megantz is committed to providing the Convention with the most transparent and efficient infrastructure in our history. Special attention is being addressed to the audio (and video) technology being placed in the Workshop, Tutorial, Papers, Roundtable and Special Event rooms and halls, with sound quality and voice comprehension priority number one.  Additionally,” Plunkett adds,  “Volunteers Co Chairs, Michael McConnell and Evan Peebles are determined to build a reliable, energetic and savvy cadre capable of lending the requisite hands-on support that insures a smooth running program.”

“We are confident that the 129th AES Convention will be one for the books,” Tyler concludes.  “Our Committee is comprised of some of the most knowledgeable, hard working and dedicated professionals in the pro audio world.  The fact that we are all volunteers further enhances the team’s esprit de corps. Their background and experience has positioned them at the epicenter of our industry. They know what makes a compelling convention, and they are committed to creating an event that will literally serve as, Your Bridge to the Future.” 

Pictured l-t-r are:  129th AES Convention Committee Volunteers co-chair Evan Peebles; Director, Convention Management, Chris Plunkett; Live Sound Co-Chair, Michael “Bink” Knowles; Master Classes/Tutorials Co-Chairs, Conrad Cook and Vene Garcia; Committee Co-Chair, Jim McTigue; Product Design Track Chair, Bob Moses; Workshops Co-Chair, Mike Wells; Audio Game Track Chair, Steve Martz; Papers Co-Chair, Veronique Larcher; Live Sound Co-Chair, Jeff McKnight; Committee Co-Chair, Valerie Tyler; Special Events Chair, Christopher Smith; Volunteers Co-Chair, Michael McConnell; Facilities Chair, Bob Megantz; Historical Chair, Bill Wray; Tech Tours Co-Chair, Jessica Livingstone, and AES Executive Director, Roger Furness. Not pictured are: Broadcast Sessions Chair, David Bialik; Education Co-Chairs, Alex Case and MeiLing Loo; Papers Co-Chair, Rob Maher; Workshops Co-Chair, David Bowles; Live Sound Co-Chair, Jonathan Novick, and Platinum Chair, Paul Verna.


The Audio Engineering Society was formed in 1948 by a group of concerned audio engineers.  The AES counts over 14,000 members throughout the U.S., Latin America, Europe, Japan and the Far East.  The organization serves as the pivotal force in the exchange and dissemination  of  technical information for the industry.  For additional information visit