AES Show: Make the Right Connections Audio Engineering Society

For Release: June 6, 2008

John Strawn & Valerie Tyler Co-Chair 125th AES Convention

Strawn Back For 3rd Turn At Helm, Tyler Signs On For 2nd Shift

SAN FRANCISCO:   AES Executive Director Roger Furness reports that John Strawn and Valerie Tyler are serving as Co-Chairs for the 125th Audio Engineering Society Convention scheduled for October 2-5 at SF’s Moscone Center. “Currently celebrating our 60th (Diamond) Anniversary, the AES is the leading authority in the exchange of ideas and information for our industry,” Furness said. “Ongoing dialogues with the EE and Broadcast communities have inspired an increased outreach to those sectors for the 125th Convention. We anticipate a continuance of the trend towards higher exhibitor and attendee turnout.”
John Strawn & Valerie Tyler“I am especially pleased to be sharing Convention Chair responsibilities with Valerie Tyler,” John Strawn remarked.  “A long-time AES member, she has served on seven conventions as Co-Chair for Workshops, Special Events, Tutorials & Master Classes and as 105th Convention Co-Chair in 1998.  She is also an accomplished audio editor and freelance live sound engineer.  Her organizational skills make her an invaluable asset. I am confident the125th Convention will benefit greatly from her increased involvement.”
Equally adept with piano and soldering iron, John Strawn is a Fulbright Scholar with a PhD from Stanford. He played an integral role with Lucasfilm’s Droid Works affiliate and, as a co-founder of Yamaha Music Technologies, USA, he headed an electronic music instruments R&D group. S Systems, Dr. Strawn’s independent consulting practice, has advised such high-tech companies as Atari, Mattel, Kurzweil and NeXT Inc., he has also served as a testifying expert witness. Prior to chairing the 2004 and 2006 AES Conventions, Dr. Strawn presented the 1996 keynote address. 
 “We are extremely fortunate to have a seasoned Committee on board for the 125th Convention,” Valerie Tyler adds.  “Our Chairs have participated in many previous AES Conventions.  They bring a depth of experience and a wealth of energy to the table. The ideas and enthusiasm for this year’s convention are extraordinary.  It will definitely be one for the books.”
Photos:  125th AES Committee Co-Chair John Strawn 
               125th AES Committee Co-Chair Valerie Tyler
For information on the 125th AES Convention please visit