Demonstration 2


Concert/Demonstration – Distributed Performance

Todd Margolis (UC San Diego), session chair

Nathan Brock (UC San Diego), session moderator

Saturday, Nov. 19, 7:00pm, CalIT2 Theater

Set 1: 7:00 – Set 2: 7:30 – Set 3: 8:00


This performance is sponsored and supported by the Center for Research in Computing and the Arts (CRCA) at UC San Diego; Nippon Telephone and Telegraph (NTT); and by Evertz Microsystems, Ltd., which loaned some important equipment for this event.



Set 1: Improvisation over Networks


Locations: UC San Diego (La Jolla, CA), Rice University (Houston, TX), La Universidad de los Andes (Bogotá, Colombia) 

Network: Internet2

Audio streaming: JackTrip software

Video streaming: LifeSize videoconference (H.323)

Performers: The Telematic Trio:

@UCSD: Chris Chafe, cello

@Rice: Pauline Oliveros, V-accordion

@Bogotá: Ricardo Arias, balloon kit

Program: Improvised music



Set 2: Classical Music


Locations: UC San Diego (La Jolla, CA), UC Irvine (Irvine, CA)

Network: OptIPuter

Audio Streaming: Axia Audio-over-IP

Video Streaming: UltraGrid

Performers: Caprice Strings:

                @UCSD: Victoria Bietz-Born, violin

Nikolai Mndoian, cello

@UC Irvine: Joseph Hintz, violin

Francesca Savage, viola


Double Violin Concerto, BWV 1043 Johann Sebastian Bach

I: Vivace

Divertimento in F, KV 138 Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

I: Allegro

II: Andante

III: Presto

String Quartet, Op. 18 No. 4 Ludwig van Beethoven

II. Scherzo

It Don’t Mean a Thing Duke Ellington (arr. William Ryden) 



Set 3: Music Composed for Networks


Locations: UC San Diego (La Jolla, CA), Keio University (Tokyo, Japan)

Networks: OptIPuter, CENIC, PacificWave, others

Audio Streaming: Embedded audio in an HD-SDI video stream

Video Streaming: NTT Jpeg2000 Video-over-IP codec


@UCSD: Rachel Beetz, flute

        John Mark Harris, piano

@Keio: Reiko Manabe, flute

        Chihiro Sato, piano


First Canonic Sonata, III: Vivace         Georg Philip Telemann

Prelude                                 Nathan Brock

Sonatina for distributed flute and piano Nathan Brock

I: Drammatico 



AES - Audio Engineering Society