2021 AES International Conference on Automotive Audio - Committee


Home  |  Program  |  Keynotes  |  Venue  |  Committee |  Sponsors |  Registration |  Travel  |  Accommodations |  News Room


  AES AA Commitee

Roger Shively, JJR Acoustics



Roger Shively is a Co-founder and Principal of JJR Acoustics. He has over 34 years of experience in engineering research and development, with significant experience in product realization and in launching new products at OEM manufacturers around the world.


Roger received his degree in Acoustical Engineering from Purdue University in 1983, and finished post-graduate work in the field of finite element analysis. He is a member of the Audio Engineering Society, Acoustical Society of America, and Society of Automotive Engineering. He has published numerous research papers and articles in the areas of transducers, automotive audio, psychoacoustics, and computer modeling. Roger also holds U.S. and International Patents related to the design of advanced acoustic systems and applications particularly in the field of automotive audio.

Roger is Co-Chair of the AES Automotive Audio Technical Committee







Co-Chair; Treasurer; Sponsorship: 
Dan Field, Panasonic



Dan Field found himself designing ceiling and car speakers a couple of years after graduating from Southern Illinois University for a southern Indiana company that would eventually become Harman’s automotive sound headquarters. The development of the first Ford-JBL sound systems was among his many interesting challenges while there.


He held senior technical positions at RCA during the early days of HDTV, and with Klipsch during their strong growth years. Dan returned to Harman for 12 years in 2002 to help the company re-establish strong ties with GM, Ford, and Chrysler, introducing along the way a number of new premium audio systems.

He currently holds a senior technical position with Panasonic Automotive Systems, America, where he continues to benchmark and develop premium audio systems, to mentor the next generation of audio wizards, and to (what else?) play with car stereos.

Dan holds a Masters Degree in Finance from Walsh College. He is a past board member and standards chair of ALMA, and has been an AES member since 1977.










Vice Chair; Sponsorship; Local Support & Facilities:

Alan Norton, Ford Motor Company





Papers Chair: 
Greg Sikora, Harman


Greg (Grzegorz) Sikora is the Director of Acoustic Systems Engineering department at HARMAN – Automotive Division. He’s responsible for sound system design and sound tuning for multiple European OEMs, managing acoustic performance of such premium brands as: Bowers & Wilkins, Bang & Olufsen, Harman/Kardon and JBL.


Greg graduated from McGill University with Tonmeister degree (MMus) and with engineering degree (MScEng) from Gdansk University of Technology. Before joining automotive audio, Greg worked in the recording studios around the world and published numerous scientific papers on acoustics and psychoacoustics. He is an active AES member since 2005.








Papers Vice-Chair: 
Yu “Dewey” Du, Harman

Yu (Dewey) Du is a Senior Principal Acoustic Engineer in the Automotive Microphone, Headphone and Sensor team at Harman International – Automotive Audio Division. He developed the interest in audio engineering and hearing science ever since his first industry job out of the graduate school when he was tasked to develop advanced technology solutions for personal hearing protection and communication systems targeting at military applications in extremely loud noise environments. He has over fifteen cumulative years of experience in engineering research and development in the areas of miniature acoustic transducers, MEMS microphones and automotive microphones and sensors.


Yu received his PhD degree in Mechanical Engineering from Virginia Tech in 2003 focusing in sound and vibration control. He has authored over 30 scientific publications on acoustic transducer development, modeling as well as structural vibration, and noise control. Yu also holds multiple U.S. and International Patents related to the design and application of acoustic transducers and devices. He has been an active AES member since 2009.









Papers Vice-Chair:

Samira Mohamady, IAV



Lars Carlsson, Dirac


Lars Carlsson, Head of Business Development Automotive, VP at Dirac Research AB.


Lars is heading the Global Automotive business and sales of Dirac’s audio optimization software and solutions for the immersive user experience in vehicles. Dirac also delivers solutions to Home Audio, Streaming Services and Consumer Electronics, all that are of high interest in Automotive.


Lars graduated from University of Technology in Lund Sweden (MSc in Engineering) and has more than 25 years of experience in NVH, Simulation and Testing and Business Development and Sales in different international leadership positions. 








Communications/Website; Local Support & Facilities:
Patrick Dennis, Nissan


Patrick Dennis is Principal Engineer at Nissan for Audio Sound Quality, Bluetooth Hands-free and Voice Recognition.  He has been in audio for 27 years with positions held in competitive analysis, speaker design and acoustic system design. 


He is Vice Chairman of the AES Technical Committee for Automotive Audio.  








Dawn Geary, Harman





Spencer Shively, JJR Acoustics

Spencer Shively serves as Data Analyst, Social Media Coordinator, and Website Manager at JJR Acoustics, LLC. He also is a Cybersecurity Associate at Infosys Ltd. He graduated from Indiana University Bloomington from the School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering in 2018 with a Bachelor of Science in Security Informatics and Human-Centered Computing. Spencer has been an active member in the audio community for over a year and is very excited to continue his work within the audio industry as a member of the Communications Committee of the AES Technical Committee for Automotive Audio. 







Local Support & Facilities:

Peter Ryan, Ford Motor Company





AES - Audio Engineering Society