AES Technical Committee

Electro Magnetic Compatibility

Chair:    Bill Whitlock    (Send Email)
Chair:    J M Woodgate    (Send Email)


Raise the level of awareness of, and expertise in, EMC and System

Interconnection issues throughout the professional audio community.  

Contribute to the planning and execution of workshops, papers sessions,

master classes, and tutorial lectures at AES conventions and meetings of

local chapters that address EMC and system interconnection.


Prepare tutorial materials on EMC and system interconnection for publication

by the AES Technical Council.

Provide support to the AES Standards Committee on matters relating to EMC and

System Interconnection.

Areas of Concentration

  • Power distribution for audio systems
  • Grounding for audio systems
  • Fundamentals of interconnection of audio systems
  • Mechanisms by which noise and radio frequency interference (RFI) are coupled into audio systems
  • Design techniques for products and systems to avoid the coupling of noise and RFI
  • Techniques for the suppression of noise and interference in legacy products and systems
  • A catalog of common interference sources and other threats to signal integrity, including the technical characteristics of each, the coupling mechanisms likely to be involved, practical suppression measures, and an on-line database of their typical sonic signatures

Committee Members

 Jim Brown  Ray A. Rayburn  Rick Chinn 
 Bruce Olson  J M Woodgate  Joel Vieira de Brito 
 Bill Whitlock  Jay Paul  Jamie Angus 
 Avedis Kifedjian  Arnold Knott  David Josephson 

To request membership in this Technical Committee please email the Chair by using the link above.

Facebook   Twitter   LinkedIn   Google+   YouTube   RSS News Feeds  
AES - Audio Engineering Society