Education & Career

Past Winners of AES Student Recording Competition at 131st AES Convention

131st AES Convention New York 2011




Everybody of the finalists got Auralex .

Silver, bronze and honorable mention got Shure earphones and reaper.


Additional prizes below:


Traditional Acoustic Recordings

  • Gold Padraig Buttner-Schnirer, Banff / McGill University Schulich School of Music - Schoeps CMC6- MK22

  • Silver Jamie Tagg, UMass - Lowell SSL plugins

  • Bronze Adam Grover , The Hartt School: University of Hartford

  • Bronze Eric Xu, Tokyo University of the Arts


Traditional Studio Recordings

  • Gold 1 Jeff Braun, Door Open, Middle Tennessee State University - API

  • Gold 3 surround Takino Masumi, WaterScape for Soprano Saxophone and Alto Saxophone, Tokyo University of the Arts - Sennheiser headphones and extreme isolation headphonse

  • Bronze 2 Andrew Cass, Beatrice , The Hartt School - University of Hartford 


Modern Studio Recordings:

  • Silver Hiromu Tanokura, "NEW YORK COUNTER POINT", 1st movement,Tokyo University of Arts -Melodyne

  • Silver Taylor Bray,Keep THE GHOST AWAKE, MTSU - Avid (Mbox+ProTools10)

  • Silver Kevin Harper, JHARI, Ithaca College - Pyramix

  • Honorable Mention LBlue Hunt, SWEET DREAM,S Institute of Audio Research


Sound for Picture:

  • Gold  Kevin Fallis, Vancouver Film School - PMC speakers

  • Silver Tariq Burney, Pontificia Universidad Javeriana - Sennheisser headphones and 100$ Sweetwater

  • Bronze Sundiata Devore, Institute of Audio Research

  • honorable mention: Ja-Ann Wang, New York University

AES - Audio Engineering Society