Google Chrome users: be sure to refresh your browser window to get the latest content.
[AES Pacific NW Section - Seatle USA]
Around the Puget Sound, Seattle, Washington, U.S.A.

PNW AES Section

April Meeting Notice

The Ribbon Microphone Resurgence
London Bridge Studio Tour

Presented by
Cascade Microphones
London Bridge Studios

Thursday, April 24th, 7:00pm
London Bridge Studios

Directions to London Bridge Studios

n.b. In order to accommodate the studio tour, this meeting starts 1/2-hour earlier than our usual start time.

The AES PNW Section welcomes Cascade Microphones' presentation focusing on a number of factors that have led to a modern ribbon microphone re-evolution. The discussion will include a brief history of ribbon microphones, the manufacturing and mechanics of modern ribbon microphones, and their practical uses in the studio and in live sound. Cascade will also discuss their particular brand, including some critical listening and live demonstration at London Bridge Studio.

Arrive early and take a tour of London Bridge Studio. London Bridge is noteworthy for having been a part of some world-changing and successful recordings from the 90s such as Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Alice in Chains, and Blind Melon as well as many modern artists like Cat Power, Fleet Foxes, and Death Cab for Cutie. The studio's unique design continues to make it a worthwhile visit for music fans and artists alike. The studio is currently raising awareness to restore their classic Neve recording console so that they can continue offering the unique "Seattle Sound" they are known for well into the future.

Our Presenter

Ken Levy is the current general manager of Cascade Microphones and oversees all business operations within the company. His career highlights include managing an MI store for over 20 years, running his own recording studio and mastering service, and serving many years as a live sound engineer. In his current position at Cascade Microphones, Ken has been fortunate enough to work with some of the best-known artists in the world, including Buddy Miller, Steely Dan, Richard Thompson, and many others.

Dave Tosti-Lane
AES PNW 2013-2014 Section Chair

n.b. The material presented at our meetings is the opinion of the presenter and not necessarily that of the Society. You are encouraged to conduct your own research and to form your own opinions before adopting the presented material as Truth.

Our meetings are open to anyone interested in Audio. AES membership is NOT required for you to attend our meetings.

2013-14 Officers
Dave Tosti-Lane
Steve Malott
Gary Louie
Greg Mauser
At Large:
Aurika Hays, Membership
Rick Chinn, Webmaster
Refer to the Officers and Committee contact list for contact information.
Program Committee
Committee 1
Bob Smith
Committee 2
Mark Rogers
Committee 3
Scott Mehrens
Committee 4
Lawrence Schwedler
Committee 5
Daniel Casado
Committee 6
JJ Johnston
Committee 7
Dan Mortensen
Committee 8
Dr. Ivan Tashev
Committee 9
Dr. Michael Matesky
Commmittee 10
Rich Williams

Last modified 04/05/2014.