## **EDITOR'S NOTE**



## ear JAES readers,

**D** Greetings from Finland. I hope that many of you reading this will get a chance to visit my home country next year—but more about that later.

The year 2022 will end soon, and I want to summarize all the good things that happened in the *AES Journal*. The new Associate Technical Editors who started this year are Prof. Adam J. Hill and Dr. Antonin

Novak. Welcome and thank you for your valuable work. Additionally, Prof. Rob Maher was nominated as the Deputy Editor-in-Chief, and I am grateful for his help.

This year, *JAES* published three special issues, which is a new record so far. I warmly thank Balázs Bank, Federico Fontana, and Julius O. Smith for arranging the Special Issue on Audio Filter Design (June 2022); Peter Balazs, Gianpaolo Evangelista, Sylvain Marchand, and Stefania Serafin for the Special Issue on New Trends in Audio Effects (Sept. 2022); and Frederic Font, Ariane Stolfi, and Franziska Schroeder for the Special Issue on Expanding Frontiers of Web Audio (Nov. 2022). My intention is to surpass this record as early as next year and publish four special issues. Please be sure to check our website for more information and calls on these exciting and timely special issues:

## https://www.aes.org/journal/special/.

JAES also published a larger than usual number of papers this

year (for example, over 10% more than last year). Perhaps the large number of special issues helped. Additionally, this year, over 50% of *JAES* papers were published as Open Access papers. This means that everyone can freely access the full text, not only AES members and AES E-Library subscribers.

Another positive development has been the increased number of review papers—eight this year —which may have been the result of our special offer of free Open Access publishing of 20-page review papers. This offer will continue through next year. Please hurry if you want to write a review article, as this may not last forever.

I would like to thank the *JAES* Managing Editor, Paige Horvath, and Production Editor, Christopher Cifani, for all their efforts for the journal and another year of fruitful collaboration. Colleen Harper was always very understanding and supportive, and after she left the AES, the interim Managing Director, Bill Foster, has supported the journal continuously. Thank you to Colleen and Bill.

Also, thank you to all the authors and reviewers of *JAES* papers. In 2022, almost 200 experts (listed next) have again helped review manuscripts submitted to *JAES*. It is the hard work of these capable volunteers that ensured the high quality of our journal.

Now, back to Finland. My news is that the AES 154th Convention will be held here! For the first time, the AES will give a chance to authors of recent *JAES* papers to present that same work in the AES Convention. Please take advantage of these opportunities and fly to Helsinki, Finland, in May 2023. Don't worry, it's usually not very cold in Helsinki in May, so you probably don't need a beanie.

I wish you a Happy New Year.

Vesa Välimäki Editor-in-Chief Journal of the Audio Engineering Society

## **2022 REVIEWERS**

The Editors of the AES Journal wish to offer their heartfelt thanks to the many reviewers who gave freely of their time and services, submitting reviews of manuscripts in 2022.

Jonathan Abel David Ackermann Sarvesh Agrawal Jens Ahrens Benoit Alary Sebastià Vicenç Amengual Garí David Allan Anderson Areti Andreopoulou Mingsain R. Bai Amy Bastine Søren Bech Daniel Beer Durand Begault Gottfried Behler Emmanouil Benetos Zamir Ben-Hur Jan Berg Axel Berndt Stefan Bilbao Mark F. Bocko Dmitry Bogdanov Jonathan Boley Jonas Braasch Karlheinz Brandenburg Fabian Brinkmann Eddy Bøgh Brixen Pascal Brunet Valeria Bruschi Michel Buffa Patrick Cairns Mateo Cámara Alistair Carson Deusany Carvalho Júnior Stefania Cecchi Jordan Cheer Keunwoo Choi Soonbeom Choi Woosung Choi Mattia Cobianchi Danilo Comminiello

J. Audio Eng. Soc., Vol. 70, No. 12, 2022 December

Robert (Bob) Cordell Albin Correya Luca Cossettini Leandro Costalonga Jean-Philippe Côté Stuart Cunningham Orchisama Das Werner de Bruijn Graeme F. Dennes Serafino di Rosario Charalampos A. Dimoulas Olivier Doaré Shaimaa Doma Li Dong Monika Dörfler Philippe Esling Fabian Esqueda Paulo Esquef Gianpaolo Evangelista **Christof Faller** Xavier Favory George Fazekas Eric Ferguson Leonardo Fierro Cristiano Figueiró Gergely Firtha Frederic Font Natanya Ford Andreas Franck Emma Frid Leslie Gaston-Bird François Germain Benjamin Jay Grigg Mark Grimshaw Kimio Hamasaki Scott H. Hawley Jianjun He Kirsten Hermes

Nicki Holighaus Martin Holters Andrew Horner Philip J. B. Jackson Hanna Jarvelainen Joe Jensen Dasaem Jeong Vladan Jovanovic Toru Kamekawa Ioannis Karvdis Brian F. G. Katz Gavin Kearney Taeho Kim Florian Klein Wolfgang Klippel Kazuhiro Kondo Victoria Korshunova Grazina Korvel Rigas G. Kotsakis Wolfgang Kreuzer Pier Paolo La Pastina Jean Laroche Nyssim Lefford Mohan Li Juho Liski Tapio Lokki Roberto Magalotti Robert C. Maher Piotr Maidak Aki Mäkivirta Henrique Malvar Sylvain Marchand Bruno Masiero Russell Mason Benjamin Matuszewski Eric Méaux Vicki R. Melchior Jorge Mendoza

Fritz Menzer Julie Meyer Alessia Milo Eloi Moliner Martin Moller SoYoun Moon Jorge Moreno Andrew Morrison John Mourjopoulos Jos Mulder Annika Neidhardt Shahan Nercessian Lasse Nipkow Markus Noisternig Scott Norcross Arne Nykänen Sean Edward Olive Julian Parker Jouni Paulus Jürgen Peissig Nils Peters Mark Poletti Christoph Pörschmann Sebastian Prepelita Shajin Prince Pavel Raimic Jussi Rämö German Ramos Mark Rau Gupta Rishabh Philip Robinson Axel Roebel Gerard Roma Olli Rummukainen Nadja Schinkel-Bielefeld Carl Schissler Sebastian Schlecht Sebastian Schmutzhard-Hoefler Frank Schultz Ivan Selesnick Christos Sevastiadis Dongyuan Shi Frank Siebenhaar Ivan Simura Julius Smith Tamara Smyth Markus Steiner Rebecca Stewart Ariane Stolfi Christopher J. Struck Huiyuan June Sun Burak Tamer Joseph Ee Leng Tan Lamberto Tronchin Emmanouil Tsardoulias Vesa Valimaki Jeremy Wells Todd Welti Kurt Werner **Bruce Wiggins** Genta Indra Winata Duane K. Wise Anna Xambó Bosun Xie Sangeon Yong Kat Young Solvi Ystad Nick Zacharov Pavel Zahorik Massimiliano Zanoni Wen Zhang Mengfan Zhang **Tingting Zhou** Franz Zotter