AES E-Library

AES E-Library

CMMSD: A Data Set for Note-Level Segmentation of Monophonic Music

Document Thumbnail

A musical data set for note-level segmentation of monophonic music is presented. It contains 36 excerpts from commercial recordings of monophonic classical western music and features the instrument groups strings, woodwind and brass. The excerpts are self-contained phrases with a mean length of 17.97 seconds and an average of 20 notes. All phrases are played in moderate tempo, mostly with significant amounts of expressive articulation. A manually annotated ground truth splits each item into a sequence of the three states note, transition and rest. The set is designed as an open source project, aiming at the development and evaluation of algorithms for segmentation, music performance analysis and feature selection. This paper presents the process of ground truth labeling and a detailed description of the data set and its properties.

AES Conference:
Paper Number:
Publication Date:

Click to purchase paper as a non-member or login as an AES member. If your company or school subscribes to the E-Library then switch to the institutional version. If you are not an AES member and would like to subscribe to the E-Library then Join the AES!

This paper costs $33 for non-members and is free for AES members and E-Library subscribers.

Learn more about the AES E-Library

E-Library Location:

Start a discussion about this paper!

AES - Audio Engineering Society