AES E-Library

AES E-Library

Maestro, A Program for the Real-Time Generation of Musical Sounds

Document Thumbnail

A program, MAESTRO, has been written for a small computer, allowing a person at the computer console to define and play up to nine different musical instruments. Up to nine instruments (including multiples of one of the nine defined instruments) can be played simultaneously by providing different inputs of frequency and amplitude. Samples of the resulting pressure wave are written onto a digital magnetic tape which can be read through a digital-to-analog converter, under clock control, to produce the musical sound.

AES Convention: Paper Number:
Publication Date:

Click to purchase paper as a non-member or login as an AES member. If your company or school subscribes to the E-Library then switch to the institutional version. If you are not an AES member and would like to subscribe to the E-Library then Join the AES!

This paper costs $33 for non-members and is free for AES members and E-Library subscribers.

Learn more about the AES E-Library

E-Library Location:

Start a discussion about this paper!

AES - Audio Engineering Society